Warning: Illegal string offset 'instance' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-content/plugins/theme-my-login/includes/class-theme-my-login.php on line 998

Warning: Illegal string offset 'instance' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-content/plugins/theme-my-login/includes/class-theme-my-login.php on line 1002

Warning: Use of undefined constant use_sorting - assumed 'use_sorting' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-content/plugins/wp-table/wp-table.php on line 316
CALL FOR PAPERS | Fourth International Congress of Dialectology and Sociolinguistics
Loading images...

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

IV International Congress on Dialectology and Sociolinguistics

IV CIDS – 2016 Paris-Sorbonne

September 7-9, 2016

CALL FOR PROPOSALS

The IV International Congress on Dialectology and Sociolinguistics is an opportunity for historically related disciplines to discuss their methodological tools, operational concepts as well as the complex relationship of the studied linguistic segments, the views adopted and the results obtained despite the specific approaches employed by each discipline to tackle its object of study.

For that reason, the Congress will focus on three themes around which debates will be held in order to discuss a key concept in Dialectology and Sociolinguistics: language variation. The purpose of the discussion is to go beyond the paths already covered in order to oppose synchronic standpoints to diachronic ones, relate the different kinds of language variation without limiting the discussion to a single parameter, and evaluate the epistemological relevance of language variation and the theoretical benefit the concept can bring to Dialectology and Sociolinguistics. Such reflection is even more urgent once the linguistic contexts with which we have been increasingly confronted in the field are so complex that the boundaries between Dialectology and Sociolinguistics are sometimes a little obscure. This is the case, for example, of the new linguistic contexts in megacities worldwide where crossed, mixed and merged linguistic uses take place and where meanwhile small linguistic islands resist the widespread standardization brought about by globalized exchanges and the vertiginous development of the media.

It would also be pertinent to discuss the different strategies the linguistic communities have adopted to preserve their identities while maintaining the necessary links with both near and far circles. Therefore, identities and differences would represent the two terms of an axis around which to articulate issues regarding linguistic attitudes adopted by individuals and social groups, the preservation of linguistic heritages as very powerful identity markers as well as language policies implemented in both emigration and hosting countries where integration is central to the linguistic management. Many issues arise concerning the geographical, ethnical and social dimensions of the languages among which we favor phraseology, one of the most remarkable aspects of idiomaticity.

The second theme of the Congress is fully articulated with the first one and has the merit of evoking features that pave the way for phraseology, a whole research segment that is relatively understudied in the field. Phraseology is any syntagmatic association that displays a minimum degree of crystallization and that keeps its own global meaning, which in turn, fully or partially breaks with the compositional meaning of the corresponding free phrase. Shifting the interest from single words to the combination of words makes it possible to integrate a set of new meaningful elements present in different linguistic realizations. Such set of elements encompasses the following: the characteristic of certain combinations that sounds “natural” to the native speakers, their pre-built, suitable and adequate aspect, their adherence to the lexicon, and their semantic specificities make those linguistic realizations special supports of stereotyped contents that are shared the speakers of a language. It is in the discourse that the polilexical units are born, used, fixed and eventually migrate to the language. The interaction established between discourse and language reflects the fundamental dynamics of every verbal communication: discourse springs from language and likewise language is born in discourse. This continued movement allows the linguistic research traditions move from the current static views to complex approaches that integrate the dynamics of the linguistic object. Thus, in order to study phraseology facts, we need to consider all the linguistic levels (lexicon, morphology, syntax, prosody, semantics, pragmatics, etc.) of all the configurations of polilexical units (from words to texts including syntagmas and sentences) as well as the dimension of enunciation (involving all the markers for the agents of enunciation situations, among others). The complexity of phraseology as a research object has little by little imposed the need for works that try to overcome the compartmentalization of the disciplines of the field of language sciences by taking into consideration the contributions of related disciplines such as translation studies, didactics, language acquisition, the automatic processing, etc. Computer tools have led scholars of the field of language sciences to question themselves about data collecting procedures, data organization and data analysis possibilities.

The third theme of the Congress – resource – springs from such intersection. Resource is a term that has been increasingly used on its own or competing with others such as data, corpus, etc. The Congress is an opportunity to discuss issues concerning data collecting and methodological procedures, nature of the data (either oral or written), data processing, its filing and exploratory analysis, etc. In accordance with the logistical features of computational technologies, we shall also discuss the new ways of working made available by the Internet and its platforms that bring out several different forms of collaborative, cumulative and relatively controllable work. Besides that, several epistemological inquiries have become urgent, among which we mention the interaction between the computational tools, the studied object and the researcher. Instances of such inquiries include the following among others: a) Do the computational requirements change the studied object? b) Would those requirements create artifacts that would have direct impact on the estimated results of the research? c) What are the possibilities to better use the potentiality of the digital technology to preserve the linguistic heritages, especially those of the endangered languages? d) What impacts could computational technology have on the linguistic issues such as history, neologisms, and stylistic markers?

Therefore, considering the three themes either in isolation or in interaction, the following axes are to be favored:

– Linguistic Geography: researches, resources, descriptions, etc.

– Language Contact: vehicular languages; national languages, vernaculars, indigenous / autochthonous languages, native languages, dialects, ways of speaking, etc.

– The linguistic observations: epistemological and theoretical reflections, databases, reference corpus, etc.

– Linguistic atlases: data collecting procedures, methods of analysis, cartographic representations, computerization, etc.computerization, etc.

– Theoretical reflection: evaluation of methodological concepts, theoretical innovations; units of linguistic analysis, etc.

– Applications: lexicography, learning language, linguistic standardization, translation, language engineering, etc.

– Urban Dialectology: linguistic heterogeneity, standardization, linguistic insecurity, linguistic market, etc.

– Cryptonymous codes: jargons, slangs, social and professional linguistic specificities.

– Crystalizations, collocations, fixed units, Paremiology, etc.

– The specialized discourses: vulgarization of terminology, terminology, markers of phraseological units, etc.

– The lexical and discursive creativity: neologism, de-crystallization, ludic uses, etc.

Warning: Illegal string offset 'instance' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-content/plugins/theme-my-login/includes/class-theme-my-login.php on line 998

Warning: Illegal string offset 'instance' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-content/plugins/theme-my-login/includes/class-theme-my-login.php on line 1002

Warning: Use of undefined constant use_sorting - assumed 'use_sorting' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-content/plugins/wp-table/wp-table.php on line 316
APPEL A COMMUNICATIONS | IVème Congrès International de Dialectologie et de Sociolinguistique
Loading images...

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

Warning: Illegal string offset 'output_key' in /var/www/html/geolinterm.com.br/web/cids2016/wp-includes/nav-menu.php on line 604

IVème Congrès International de Dialectologie et de Sociolinguistique

CIDS 2016 Paris-Sorbonne

Les 7, 8 et 9 septembre 2016

APPEL À COMMUNICATIONS

Le 4ème congrès international de dialectologie et de sociolinguistique est l’occasion pour des champs disciplinaires historiquement bien liés, bien que privilégiant chacun des approches propres à leur objet d’étude, de s’interroger sur les outils méthodologiques, sur les concepts opératoires et sur la relation complexe entre les segments linguistiques étudiés, le point de vue adopté et les résultats obtenus.

C’est pourquoi le colloque portera sur trois items autour desquels on souhaiterait organiser un débat qui interroge l’un des concepts clefs de la dialectologie et de la sociolinguistique : la variation ; l’objectif est de sortir des sentiers battus pour opposer points de vue synchronique et diachronique, croiser les différents types de variations, sans se limiter à un seul paramètre, évaluer la pertinence épistémologique de ce concept et la plus-value théorique qu’il peut apporter particulièrement en dialectologie et en sociolinguistique. Une telle réflexion est d’autant plus urgente que les situations linguistiques auxquelles on est de plus en plus confronté sur le terrain sont d’une complexité telle que les frontières entre dialectologie et sociolinguistique se trouvent par moments un peu brouillées. Tel est le cas par exemple des situations inédites dans les mégapoles du monde entier où se pratiquent des usages croisés, mixés, brassés, etc. et où des ilots linguistiques résistent devant la standardisation généralisée par la globalisation des échanges et le développement vertigineux des moyens de communication.

Il serait pertinent d’interroger également les différentes stratégies adoptées par les communautés linguistiques pour préserver leurs identités tout en conservant les liens nécessaires avec l’entourage proche et lointain. Identités et différences représenteraient ainsi les deux termes d’un axe autour duquel s’articuleraient des questions relatives aux postures linguistiques adoptées par les individus et les groupes sociaux, à la préservation des patrimoines linguistiques en tant que marqueurs identitaires très puissants, aux politiques linguistiques menées dans les pays d’émigration et les pays d’accueil où la gestion linguistique, liée à celle de l’intégration, est considérée comme centrale. Autant de questions qui se posent autour des dimensions géographiques, ethniques et sociales des langues, parmi lesquelles nous avons voulu privilégier l’un des aspects les plus saillants de l’idiomaticité, celui de la phraséologie.

Ce deuxième item du colloque, tout en s’articulant avec le premier, a le mérite d’évoquer des aspects qui ouvrent la voie devant tout un pan de la recherche relativement vierge dans ce domaine : serait phraséologique toute association syntagmatique témoignant d’un degré minimal de fixité ayant pour contrepartie un sens global propre, en rupture totale ou partielle avec le sens compositionnel du syntagme libre correspondant. Le fait de déplacer le centre d’intérêt du mot vers la combinatoire des mots permet d’intégrer un ensemble de nouveaux éléments significatifs dans les différentes réalisations linguistiques : le caractère qui semble « naturel » pour les natifs de certaines combinaisons, leur aspect préconstruit, approprié et idoine, leur fixation dans le lexique et leurs spécificités sémantiques en font des supports privilégiés de contenus stéréotypiques partagés par les locuteurs de la même langue. C’est dans le discours que les séquences polylexicales naissent, s’emploient, se figent et finissent par migrer vers la langue. Ce pont établi entre discours et langue traduit la dynamique fondamentale de toute communication verbale : c’est grâce à la langue que se construit le discours, et c’est dans le discours que naît la langue. Ce mouvement perpétuel permet de sortir la recherche linguistique des visions statiques pour aller vers des approches complexes qui intègrent la dynamique de l’objet linguistique. Ainsi, pour étudier les faits phraséologiques, aurait-on besoin de tenir compte de tous les aspects linguistiques (lexique, morphologique, syntaxe, prosodie, sémantique, pragmatique, etc.), de toutes les configurations des séquences polylexicales (qui vont du mot au texte, tout en passant par le syntagme et la phrase) et la dimension énonciative (qui implique entre autres tous les marqueurs relatifs aux actants de la situation d’énonciation). C’est cette complexité de l’objet phraséologique qui impose petit à petit des travaux qui tentent de sortir du cloisonnement entre les disciplines des sciences du langage, de tenir compte de l’apport des disciplines connexes comme la traductologie, la didactique, l’acquisition des langues, le traitement automatique, etc. C’est par le biais par exemple de l’outil informatique que les sciences du langage connaissent actuellement des bouleversements qui conduisent les linguistes à s’interroger entre autres sur la collecte des données, leur structuration et les différentes exploitations qu’ils peuvent faire.

D’où le troisième item, celui des ressources, un terme de plus en plus employé, seul ou en concurrence avec d’autres comme données, corpus, etc. Le colloque serait l’occasion de discuter des travaux en rapport avec la collecte des données, avec tout ce que cela implique comme précautions méthodologiques, leur nature (orale ou écrite), leur traitement, leur archivage, leur exploitation, etc. En rapport avec les aspects logistiques, on pourrait évoquer les nouvelles méthodes de travail rendues possibles grâce à internet et aux plateformes qui font émerger diverses formes de travail collaboratif, cumulable et relativement bien maîtrisable. Par ailleurs, plusieurs questionnements qui ne manquent pas d’intérêt épistémologique se font de plus en plus pressants : la relation entre l’outil informatique, l’objet étudié et le chercheur ? Les contraintes informatiques modifient-elles l’objet étudié ? Ne créeraient-elles pas des artefacts ayant un impact direct sur les résultats escomptés de la recherche ? Comment mieux exploiter les possibilités extraordinaires du numérique pour mieux préserver les patrimoines linguistiques, notamment pour les langues menacées ou en voie d’extension ? Quel impact cette évolution pourrait-elle avoir sur les approches linguistiques, comme par exemple en matière d’histoire, de créations néologiques, de marqueurs stylistiques, etc.

En rapport avec ces trois items, pris isolément et en interaction les uns avec les autres, seront privilégiés les axes suivants :

– La géographie linguistique : enquêtes, ressources, descriptions, etc.

– Le contact des langues : langues véhiculaires, nationales, vernaculaires, indigènes, autochtones, dialectes, parlers, etc.

– Les observables linguistiques : réflexion épistémologique et théorique, bases de données, corpus de référence, etc.

– Les atlas linguistiques : collectes de données, méthodes d’analyse, représentations cartographiques, informatisation, etc.

– La réflexion théorique : évaluation des concepts méthodologiques, innovations théoriques, unités d’analyse linguistique, etc.

– Les applications : lexicographie, apprentissage des langues, aménagement linguistique, traduction, ingénierie linguistique, etc.

– La dialectologie urbaine : brassage linguistique, standardisation, insécurité linguistique, marché linguistique, etc.

– Les codes cryptonymiques : jargons, argots, spécificités linguistiques socioprofessionnelles ;

– Le figement : collocations, séquences figées, parémiologie, etc.

– Les discours spécialisés : routines d’expressions, terminologie, marques phraséologiques, etc.

– La créativité lexicale et discursive : la néologie, le défigement, les emplois ludiques, etc.